John Brown quotes

John Brown on not seeing an end to slavery without blood shed…

“I, John Brown, am now quite certain that the crimes of this guilty land will never be purged away but with blood. I had, as I now think, vainly flattered myself that without very much bloodshed it might be done.”

John Brown on adding his own blood to the pool of blood as the result of human bondage…

“. . . I believe to have interfered as I have done, . . . in behalf of His despised poor, was not wrong, but right. Now, if it be deemed necessary that I should forfeit my life for the furtherance of the ends of justice, and mingle my blood further with the blood of my children, and with the blood of millions in this slave country whose rights are disregarded by wicked, cruel, and unjust enactments, I submit: so let it be done…”

 

On his way to the gallows…

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    gil villagran said,

    Dear Becky,

    Your blog is very interesting, blending your love for the muppets from your childhood,
    especially Bert, and your passion for history.

    As you know, I also have a passion to understand our human journey that only an honest
    study of history can provide.

    John Brown committed his life to the end of slavery in the U.S., and since no one person
    can change such a major national practice, he could only move others with his wild
    passion toward the final end of this despicable and grotesque legalized brutality.

    We can all learn from John Brown’s history, and resolve to work to end the brutalities
    of our time. These brutalities include the our national and global acceptance of famine,
    war, torture, and all types of ethnic, gender and class inequities.

    I am certain that you, Bequita, will make many positive contributions to bring awareness of
    these harsh realities. Peacefully, strategically and collectively, we can change the world!

    In great admiration, tu Papi

    war


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

